Witch Costume | Sewable Fabric Interfacing

Witch Costume | Sewable Fabric Interfacing

 

With Halloween only 2 days away, I was scrambling to put together a costume for my daughter. She wanted to be a purple witch this year and I wanted it to be homemade. I much prefer homemade costumes as I find that they are more creative and are of better quality. I also think that the likelihood of the same costume being duplicated at school is pretty close to nil, which of course is important to my daughter.

So this is what I came up with, thanks to the help of my Silhouette CAMEO. The design for the the shirt was made with Silhouette brand sewable fabric interfacing, the purple zebra print fabric was picked up from Walmart, and the Witch Silhouette design was found in the Silhouette Design Store.

SHIRT

The application of interfacing is very simple:

  • Cut a piece of interfacing about 1″ larger than the design
  • Iron the shiny side of the interfacing to the wrong (back) side of the fabric for 2 seconds
  • Peel away the paper
  • Place the fabric onto the Silhouette cutting mat, interfacing side down
  • Cut the shape with the Silhouette CAMEO
  • Place the cut design onto the t-shirt and lightly iron it for a temporary hold
  • Sew around the edges of the design

IMG_5345SKIRT

I found a simple black skirt at Dollarama for $3.00. I cut waistband close to the outside edge seam to expose the elastic.  Then I cut pieces of tule and zebra print 12×2″, Then, I secured the pieces by folding the fabric in half and created a slip knot around the elastic waistband. Here is a picture and tutorial of how this is done.

IMG_5347MAGIC WAND

My daughter created her own magic wand with a stick she found and then taped some shiny garland to the stick. She made it all by herself and she is very proud of her creation. I think it perfect too!

wand

FINISHING TOUCHES

A pair of purple leggings and a purple and black spiderweb witch hat completed the costume.

My daughter LOVES the skirt the best since it’s poofy and very girlish. I like her magic wand the best 🙂

I hope this has inspired you to make your own costume this year! Let me know how you used your Silhouette CAMEO to create your Halloween costume. If you are interested, you can also take a look at the Fireman costume that I made for my son. This is another great project that I created with my Silhouette CAMEO.

Thanks for stopping by!

Martha

2 thoughts on “Witch Costume | Sewable Fabric Interfacing

  1. I agree, homemade costumes are always better. What a fantastic purple witch costume! The applique looks great Martha. I like how you used the same fabric in the skirt too.

Leave a Reply

